August 10, 2022

MLB Silver Sluggers Announced

THREE 2012 Silver Slugger Awards for the Washington Nationals!

Adam LaRoche, Ian Desmond and Stephen Strasburg were awarded 2012 Louisville Silver Slugger Awards today.

Washington Nationals Third Baseman Ryan Zimmerman has earned the NL 3B Silver Slugger Award twice (2009 and 2010).

Ryan Zimmerman’s 2009 Silver Slugger Award (Photo by Cheryl Nichols)


C: A.J. Pierzynski CHW
1B: Prince Fielder, MIL
2B: Robinson Cano, NYY
3B: Miguel Cabrera, DET
SS: Derek Jeter, NYY
OF: Mike Trout, LAA
OF: Josh Hamilton, TEX
OF: Josh Willingham, MIN
DH: Billy Buter, KC

C: Buster Posey, SF
1B: Adam LaRoche, WAS
2B: Aaron Hill, ARI
3B: Chase Headley, SD
SS: Ian Desmond, WAS
OF: Andrew McCutchen PIT
OF: Jay Bruce, CIN
OF: Ryan Braun, MIL
P: Stephen Strasburg, WAS

About Cheryl Nichols

Cheryl Nichols is a Columnist and Photographer for District Sports Page. She is credentialed to cover the Washington Capitals and has reported on the community service and fan events since 2006. Cheryl has been published in The Washington Post and many other local media. She was a credentialed photographer for the 2010 season covering the Washington Nationals. You can follow her on Twitter @cnichols14.


  1. […] Full list of 2012 Silver Slugger Winners. Adam LaRoche homers on a fly ball to right field and Ryan Zimmerman scores in the 6th – Chicago Cubs v Washington Nationals, 9/6/2012. (Cheryl Nichols/District Sports Page) Ian Desmond earns first career Silver Slugger. (Cheryl Nichols/District Sports Page) Washington Nationals RHP Stephen Strasburg takes a curtain call after hitting his 1st MLB home run in 4th inning, May 20, 2012. (Cheryl Nichols/District Sports Page) […]

%d bloggers like this: